Thursday, November 10, 2011

(already) new years resolutions

i know that i've already posted my "12 before 2012", which help me to serve as some of my new years resolutions, but i just found a post on pinterest that now i HAVE to make as one of them: make glitter play doh. my students absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE play doh, and i love glitter, so it's basically the perfect combination! i feel bad for my (student's) parents when they come to "meet the teacher" night, or parent-teacher conferences, because i'm pretty sure all they think we do is glitter crafts (which is basically 97% of the truth!) notice how i didn't say "crafts with glitter"...that's because those are everyday, common activities...glitter is the cornerstone of a LOT of the crafts we do! (i.e., "we are making GLITTER turkeys, GLITTER mayflowers, and GLITTER christmas trees"). you get the picture. i'm so used to coming home with various glitter on my shirt, cheeks, eyelashes, shoes, and socks, that by now it just kind of seems second nature. "oh, you're not using glitter??" "no, no glitter, why?"........(silence)........"ooooooh. weirdo".  (enough explanation).

"we need kate, and we need leo, and we need them now"

for anyone who knows me or my college roomies (ali and coco, love you!) you know that we loved to watch christmas movies, starting in about november, and especially love actually. well, all christmas movies except for the holiday, which ali and i were obsessed with and coco could never get over WHY we liked it so much! (ps--i'm still looking for a new copy of that dvd since mine tragically broke in half...!) anyways, i'm watching love actually now and thinking about taking down my halloween deco tomorrow (um i decorated for october 31st in the middle of september, so i'm kinda over it by now and ready for my next fave holiday!) and putting up my christmas deco!! when do you usually decorate for christmas? i know it's not even thanksgiving yet, but a recent visit to target and my pinterest account has me ready and waiting to break out the red and green crafts and (**let's not forget!**) the glitter! don't worry, i'm doing plenty of thanksgiving things in class...check out my pinterest account!

http://pinterest.com/maevealita/

look at the "thanksgiving" board...lots of activities using hand prints, just like i said

pinterest is a great way to check out all diy/homemade crafts that you can make for christmas...i'm not revealing my list of things i'm making until after the big event! xoxo

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

6 out of 8

i'm really bad. i broke 2 of my "12 before 2012" resolutions. i took 2 days off from the gym after going 5 days in a row...and i haven't been posting at least every other day! ok, so i went to the gym today, and in my defense, i am sick with a gross cold that one of my little ankle biters probably gave me...but i am still beating myself up! i dropped my iphone twice at the gym today (thank goodness it didn't break, or i would have had to quit the gym right then and there!) so maybe that's my karma for missing 2 days. i know it's normal to take "rest days" from the gym, butttttt.......ok. moving on.

happy tuesday! we have a short work week this week (no school friday! yay!) and then only one more week until an ENTIRE week off for thanksgiving! wahhooooo :) i have been getting inspiration from pinterest for my art projects next week, imagine lots of indians, pilgrims, turkeys, and mayflower ships all made out of hand prints...it will be like i'm giving manicures to my students all week.

it's been really chilly here this week (love!) so today i went to the gym with a sweatshirt on, and decided to "run off" some of my cold while wearing it. ha. i lasted a half mile on the treadmill before i had to quit, a) because i had snot dripping out of my nose, and b) because i was majorly sweating. gross, i know. what is it that they say? "starve a fever, feed a cold"?? well, i was trying to run off my cold! i got on the elliptical for 30 minutes after that at crossramp 10 and resistance 6. it's weird that it feels better and easier to me to have a high level of crossramp rather than a low level. after that, a great song came on and motivated me to complete my "run" and so i ran another half mile (faster this time, but no less gorgeous i'm sure). whew! felt good when i was done, but it was tough getting through all of it while struggling to breathe!

anyway, i promise to write more this week. i'm off to see what's for dinner!

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

12 before 2012

since i have been all about this renewed sense of trying to do things that are good for me and my body, i thought while i was at it i would get a head start on some resolutions for 2012. i have been seeing a lot of different blogs that talk about a challenge called "12 before 2012" and so i decided to make myself a list of things to try and accomplish before december 31!

 

here is my list:

1. exercise meaningfully every day starting november 1 (i know, i know...a little late! but i'm not planning on stopping in 2012!)

2. brush my cats one time per week =^..^=

3. bring everything in from my car that i bring out with me 

4. start a blog and write at least every other day

5. keep a daily food/exercise journal

6. have my lesson plan for the following week ready by friday

7. write and turn in my reflections for work on friday

8. call my mom and dad, sister, and brothers at least one time per week

9. eat more controlled portions, and more greens/fruits

10. make diy/personal gifts for my friends and family for christmas

11. plan meals for the on sunday and shop accordingly

12. plan fun weekly date nights with jeff <3

i'll keep updating my list to document my progress! xoxo

some of what i'm listening to...

rabiosa--shakira & pitbull
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5irTX82olg

pegate--grupo treo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tV_vkUAM_6o

yeah--chris brown
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3mC2ixOAivA

cherry lips (go baby go)--beautiful garbage
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G84CqW572XY

danza kuduro--don omar & lucenzo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zp1TbLFPp8&ob=av3e

bounce with me--kreesha turner
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FOR584lUvtE

what do you listen to when you're working up a sweat?

day 2

day 2 has me feeling even better than yesterday, although my calves are pretty sore. i did 62 minutes (i had to get to that last full mile!) on the elliptical. here's part one:


and part two:


the first part i did 28 minutes of intervals of crossramp 7/resistance 5 and crossramp 10/resistance 5, and the second part i did 34 minutes of crossramp 8/resistance 5

2 days down! tomorrow i'm doing zumba (my favorite!) for cardio, and strength.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

hello blog world!

hellloooooo&bonjour!

day 1: cardio 60 minutes (elliptical--crossramp 7/resistance 4)
felt GREAT to finally get my booty back into the gym! watching gossip girl on my ipod helped, and so did a rockin' playlist (i am a huge believer in the power of a good playlist!), but i'm hoping the overall feeling that i had after finishing with wobbly strong legs will be the ultimate motivator. i've just been feeling for a long time that i'm letting my life just pass me by, and that getting back into shape is the first step in standing up for my life! (reruns in france of one tree hill, anyone?!) so...here i go! i'm off to put a load of laundry in and make dinner before a loooonnnggg day tomorrow training to take down any 3 year old who tries to cross me safely manage classroom behavior!